USA Volleyball honors FPU

Coach Dennis Janzen was invited to the 65th Annual Dorothy C. Boyce Awards for Recognition Banquet May 27 in Phoenix, Arizona. FPU's three consecutive NAIA volleyball championships (2007-2009) were celebrated as part of the Boyce Moment, a segment of the banquet reflecting on an important event or individual in volleyball.

"Any time honors such as this occur, it represents the culmination of outstanding efforts from many people. We are thrilled, and humbled by this recognition from USA Volleyball," Janzen said.

In fact, The Boyce Moment will look at three volleyball "Three-Peaters": FPU, Penn State University (NCAA Division I champion) and Concordia-St. Paul University (NCAA Division II champion). "The Three-Peat is such a rare accomplishment in American sports--professional or college," Doug P. Beal, USA Volleyball CEO, wrote to Janzen.

Until December 2009, no NCAA Division I or II schools scored three volleyball championships in a row, and only one other NAIA team had the distinction before FPU--so three of the four "Three-Peats" occurred in the same year. "What an impressive accomplishment," Beal wrote.


Wayne Steffen
Associate Director of Publications and Media Relations