Fresno Pacific University honored staff, faculty and administrators for service and seniority May 8 during the Annual Employee Celebration. Prizes were awarded in Warkentine Culture and Arts Center and participants enjoyed lunch in the seminary rose garden on the main campus. 

Presidential Distinguished Service Awards 

  • Staff—Irma Montemayor
  • Regional Campus—Chad Bolling
  • Faculty—Darrell Blanks, Ph.D.
  • Administration—Kerry Sue Brown, Ph.D.


  • Mark Baker, Ph.D., J.B. Toews Chair, professor of mission and theology (25 years combined seminary and university)
  • Lynn Jost, Ph.D., professor of Old Testament/preaching; president, Fresno Pacific Biblical Seminary; vice president, Fresno Pacific University; director, Center for Anabaptist Studies (18 years combined seminary and university)
  • Jacalyn “Jaci” Griffen, Ed.D., director of the teacher education program, Merced campus; clinical assistant professor of education (4 years)
  • Claudia Norris, clinical assistant professor of education, special education program site director (4 years)

Completing terms on Faculty Senate and Staff Exec

  • Faculty Senate
    • Don Diboll, Ph.D.
    • Pamela Johnston, Ph.D.
  • Staff Exec
    • Kendall Featherstone, vice president
    • David Black, regional campus representative
    • Katie Isaac, secretary
    • Kathy Herms, policy & professional development committee
    • Chris Carlson, social committee

Years of service awards

35 years

  • Gary Estes

25 years

  • Tara Neufeld

15 years

  • Carla Jacobson
  • Paulette Matsubara

10 years

  • Jon Clark, Andy Herrick, Sarah Johnson, Hannah Keeney, Brittney Miller, Patti Patrick, Eddie Pina, Brian Ross, Eddie Williams, Ray Winter

5 years

  • Lenny Abbott, Michelle Bradford, Olivia Calvillo, Nick Carrera, Lisa Cloeters, Dianne Edwards, Charlotte Espinoza, Linda Gonzalez, Jimmy Guzman, David Hasegawa, Kathy Herms, Magan Hinojos, Rachel Luchau-Christian, Nathan Lyness, Katie McNamara, Crystal Medina, Priscilla Pinon, Savannah Richey, Patricia Salas, Jordan Sharp, Skyler Starbeck, Sharon Starcher, David Trevino, Todd Vasquez, Yvonne Vogt, Whitney Bortz, Brian Whaley


PHOTO: Presidential Distinguished Service Award winners (from left)—Chad Bolling; Kerry Sue Brown, President André Stephens and Darrell Blanks. (FPU photo) 


Wayne Steffen
Associate Director of Publications and Media Relations