President's Distinguished Service Awards

President Pete C. Menjares, Ph.D., presented the President's Distinguished Service Awards. (Text from his remarks.)

Jenny Martinez—Regional Centers Jenny Martinez is the assistant director of the Visalia Center. Among her strengths is the ability to take a step back and see what is best and how to get there. She is a dedicated advocate for her students, and, when one has a challenge, she follows through to the end.

Karen Cianci—Administration Karen Cianci, Ph.D., is the dean of the School of Natural Sciences and the interim dean for traditional undergraduate students. She has helped transform TUG programs through revamping the first year experience and securing a STEM grant with College of the Sequoias in the amount of $740,000 per year for five years.

Quentin Kinnison—Faculty Loved by his students and his colleagues, Quentin Kinnsion, Ph.D., is sensitive to issues many of us do not regularly think about. Kinnison is an assistant professor of contemporary Christian ministries, chair of the University Diversity Committee and member the Faculty Senate Executive. In all his roles he models servant leadership.

Dina Gonzales-Pina—Staff As assistant dean of multicultural ministries, Dina Gonzales-Pina, M.A., shows leadership with Hispanic students, challenging them, working with them, holding them accountable. No wonder FPU is one of the top Hispanic-Serving Institutions nationally in graduating Hispanic students. She was also featured in an article in Advance, the Council for Christian Colleges & Universities magazine.

Major anniversaries

Kevin Enns-Rempel, M.A., director of Hiebert Library, and Dennis Janzen Ph.D., professor of kinesiology; were recognized for 30 years of service. Gary Estes, chief accountant; Tim Geddert, Ph.D., professor of New Testament; Rod Janzen, Ed.D., interim dean of the School of Humanities, Religion and Social Sciences; Peter Kopriva, Ed.D., professor of early childhood development and special education; Mike Miles, athletics facilities manager; and Paula Seminario, student loan coordinator, were honored for 25 years. Mark Deffenbacher, executive director of the FPU Foundation; Dina Gonzales-Pina, assistant dean of multicultural ministries; Linda Hoff, Ph.D., director of the Teacher Education Program Division; and Arnie Prieb, M.A., director of the International Programs & Services Office, were honored for 20 years.


Emeritus status went to: Ron Claassen, D.Min., professor of peacemaking and conflict studies/leadership studies (29 years); Delores Friesen, Ph.D., professor of pastoral counseling (25 years); Wayne Huber, M.A., associate professor of music (43 years); and JoEllen Misakian, M.L.S., associate professor, teacher librarian (15 years). Also honored were Barry Lockton, facilities director; Vivian Gayles, Ed.D., assistant professor of teacher education; and Larry Metzler, M.A., assistant professor of education.

Special thanks

Dick Herrinton was honored for his two years as interim vice president for financial and business affairs.


Wayne Steffen
Associate Director of Publications and Media Relations