Fresno Pacific University celebrates faculty and staff

The first and current athletic director, a quiet but effective teacher of biblical and religious studies and a long-time coach were among those honored during the annual Fresno Pacific University Faculty and Staff Appreciation Dinner.

Gary Nachtigall, athletic director and geography faculty, was honored for 40 years of service. Devon Wiens received recognition for 30 years on the biblical and religious studies faculty. Bill Cockerham was commended for 25 years as a coach and biology faculty. Dee Robb, undergraduate dean's office, was recognized for 20 years of service. All will continue in their posts.

Others in the spotlight included Anita Andresen, who is retiring from administrative services after joining the faculty in 1989. President's Distinguished Service Awards went to Linda Hoff, director of the Teacher Education Division; Michael Kunz, chair of the Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Dennis Janzen, athletic development director and head women's volleyball coach; and Roberta Heinrichs, administrative assistant in the Student Life Division. Howard Loewen received recognition for his time as academic vice president and provost as he leaves FPU to become dean of the school of theology at Fuller Theological Seminary. John Yoder's decade as graduate dean was commemorated as he moves into the university-wide position of associate vice president for academic affairs.

Greg Camp, biblical and religious studies; Gail Enns, university communications; Theron Esau, facilities management; David Freeman, education and TESOL; Will Friesen, biblical and religious studies; Ken Isaak, sports information; Ted Nickel, psychology; and Cary Templeton, admissions; were honored for 15 years.

Honors for 10 years went to Esther Klassen Isaak, student life; George Marsh, Center for Professional Studies; Nancy Neufeld, president's office; Jaime Ramirez, athletics; and John Yoder, graduate school dean.

Those honored for five years were Peggy Avakian, administrative leadership; Chris Brown, library; Kathleen Childress, school of professional studies; Jon Endicott, admissions; Melinda Gunning, writing center; D. J. Hoffman, student life; Arlene Mack, school of professional studies; Debbie McAllister, Center for Degree Completion; Sandra Olsen, Older Adult Social Services (OASIS); Mark Patton, facilities management; Larry Perryman, vice president for business affairs and school of professional studies; Alden Poetker, Multi Media Arts Center; Katrina Poetker, biblical studies and anthropology; Sharon Wichert, business office; Diane Wiese, athletics; Bill Williams, administrative services; Mary Willis, student life; and Kathryn Woolsey, information services.


Wayne Steffen
Associate Director of Publications and Media Relations